Statement from Dorset MPs on Local Government Reform

Please find below a statement from Rt Hon Sir Oliver Letwin MP, Rt Hon Tobias Ellwood MP, Sir Robert Syms MP, Conor Burns MP, Richard Drax MP, Michael Tomlinson MP and Simon Hoare MP concerning Dorset Local Government reform, following the Secretary of State's announcement today:

‘As Dorset Members of Parliament we warmly welcome the announcement made by the Secretary of State to support the reform of Dorset Local Government.

The announcement paves the way for significant reorganisation leading to major cost savings, thereby allowing the delivery of quality public services which our constituents require.

We will continue to work with our councils and communities to ensure the very best deal for Dorset.

Today represents major progress and puts Dorset in the vanguard of public sector reform.’